‘Zup Zumba?

Standard

It took me 25 years to step inside a studio and finally do something about my long-time desire to work out. Well, maybe I’m overestimating, but yes, I’ve been searching for my “ultimate work out.” Running? Badminton? Volleyball? Boxing? Yoga? Hip hop abs?

BeFunky_WengkyNaMoo workout studio

When Zumba, a fitness program that mixes dance infused with various aerobic elements, started to boom here in the Philippines, I got fascinated. I’m no good dancer, but I appreciate the kind of liberation that dance brings. From a spectator like me, it looks fun, but at the same time, the movements get the body all worked up.

So when I saw an advertisement of Plana Forma offering free trial classes for Zumba this month, I grabbed the opportunity. This morning I went with my Mama at their Centris branch to try it out. For one good hour, we danced to pop, Latin, and even Indian tracks, along with more than a dozen other females, some of who became our acquaintances who shared excerpts on their journey to fitness. Our sexy instructor, Ate Ea, was very encouraging to me and Mama about continuing the program.

I really hope so. Time to level up from brisk walking. Haha.

2 responses »

  1. A huge factor in fitness is finding activities that you enjoy so that you’re more likely to stick with it. I see burnout so much with my clients. One of my favorite parts of my job is coming up with new ideas to keep them guessing. Keep up the good work!

Leave a comment